Drakensberg - Kwazulu-Natal



Town: Drakensberg
Province: Kwazulu-Natal
Latitude: 3033'34.14
Longitude: 2256'15.02

thumb_56_drakensberg1.jpg thumb_56_drakensberg2.jpg thumb_56_drakensberg3.jpg
Introduction: Drakensberg is not a town but an area. The largest part falls in the province of KwaZulu-Natal.

This area was named Ukhahlamba by the Zulu people which means 'the Barrier of Spears'. Later it got the name 'The Dragon Mountain' from the Dutch Voortrekkers.

This mountainious wonderland is 200km long and is a world heritage site.
Must See: Cathedral Peak Golf Course, Cathedral Peak State Forest, Cobham State Forest, Garden CAstle State Forest, Himeville Museum, Himeville Nature Reserve, Lotheni Nature Reserve, Mkhomazi State Forest, Mount Currie Nature Reserve, Royal Natal National Park, The Amphitheatre, Ukhahlamba Drakensberg Park.
Must Do: Hot air ballooning, fly fishing at Penwarn, trout fishing at Glengarry, visit the Underberg Studio, Visit the Ardmore Ceramic Art Studio in Champagne Valley, walking, hiking, game viewing, horse riding in the Central Drakensberg mountains.
Printer Friendly Version of This Page View a map of the area

This listing has been viewed 3352 times.


Partners South Africa


South Africa Tourist Information including: Accommodation, Tours, Adventures and much more.




Booking South Africa cc

Please do not contact us for accommodation reservation changes, contact the establishments directly as all bookings are done on-line directly with the establishments.

(+27) 42 296 2563
PO Box 2031, Jeffreys Bay, 6331

BSA Booking South Africa Travel and Tour Bookings and Information Southern Africa.

Social Media